Markus Hilgert

Markus Hilgert

Professor, Altorientalist und Experte für den wissenschaftlichen Kulturgutschutz

Markus ist Altorientalist und Experte für den wissenschaftlichen Kulturgutschutz. Seit 2014 ist Markus Direktor des Vorderasiatischen Museums im Pergamonmuseum der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Von 2007 bis 2014 lehrte er als Professor für Altorientalistik an der Universität Heidelberg.

Markus leitet den BMBF-Forschungsverbund „ILLICID – Illegaler Handel mit Kulturgut in Deutschland“ und ist Initiator und Direktor des „Zentrums für digitale Kulturgüter in Museen“ (ZEDIKUM) an der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, ein think tank für die 3D-Digitalisierung von archäologischen Kulturgütern. Außerdem koordiniert er das nationale Verbundvorhaben „museum4punkt0 – Digitale Strategien für das Museum der Zukunft“, das von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien finanziert wird.

Markus ist Vizepräsident des Deutschen Verbandes für Archäologie e.V. (seit 2017), Mitglied der Deutschen UNESCO-Kommission e.V. (seit 2016), Mitglied im Stiftungsrat der International Alliance for the Protection of Heritage in Conflict Areas (ALIPH; seit 2017), Mitglied in der Advisory Group des Cultural Protection Fund des British Council (seit 2017) sowie Mitglied im Disaster Risk Management Committee des International Council of Museums (seit 2017). Außerdem ist er korrespondierendes Mitglied des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts und Ordentliches Mitglied der Klasse Philosophie und Kulturhistorische Wissenschaften der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste.

Im April 2016 wurde Markus zum National Correspondent des Internationalen Komitees vom Blauen Schild für Deutschland berufen und am 16. Juni 2017 zum Gründungspräsidenten von Blue Shield Deutschland (e.V.) gewählt.

Als Honorarprofessor lehrt Markus an der Universität Heidelberg, der Universität Marburg sowie der Freien Universität Berlin.

(Copyright: Staatliche Museen zu Berlin – Vorderasiatisches Museum, Foto: Olaf M. Teßmer)

Webseite: www.smb.museum

Markus Hilgert

MARKUS HILGERT

Markus Hilgert

Professor, Specialist Ancient Near Eastern Studies and Cultural Heritage Research

Markus is a specialist in Ancient Near Eastern Studies and Cultural Heritage Research. He is the current Director of the Ancient Near East Museum at the Pergamonmuseum in Berlin. From 2007 until 2014, he held a chair for Ancient Near Eastern Studies at Heidelberg University.

Markus is the coordinator of the national research alliance ILLICID focusing on the illicit traffic with cultural property in Germany and the director of the “Center for Digital Cultural Heritage in Museums” (CEDICUM) at the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation. In addition, he is the coordinator of the national program “museum4punkt0 – Digital Strategies for the Museum of the Future” under the auspices of the Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media.

Markus is a member of several governing bodies and advisory boards, including the German Commission for UNESCO (since 2016), the Foundation Board of the International Alliance for the Protection of Heritage in Conflict Areas (ALIPH; since 2017), the Advisory Group of the Cultural Protection Fund of the British Council (since 2017), and the Disaster Risk Management Committee of the International Council of Museums (since 2017).

In 2016, Markus was named the “National Correspondent for the Blue Shield in Germany” and was elected founding President of Blue Shield Germany in 2017. He is also the Vice President of the German Association for Archeology. Markus holds honorary professorships at Heidelberg University, Marburg University, and Berlin University (Freie Universität).
(Copyright: Staatliche Museen zu Berlin – Vorderasiatisches Museum, Photo: Olaf M. Teßmer)

Website: www.smb.museum

Prof. Markus Hilgert